KC vs Toronto…


I am in the Air Canada Lounge looking at the grey sky that makes up the landscape of Rexdale, a suburb 20 minutes north of Toronto.  Toronto is the city it’s citizens call the “Centre of the Universe”.  The residents of my home town have a fierce loyalty to their metropolis, to their mantra that Toronto is a mosaic of cultures, has lovely architecture and unique urban living.

But I miss Kansas City,  a town not really known for that much culturally outside of BBQ.  Whenever I mention how I sometimes love KC more to fellow Torontonians, I often get a mix of surprise, offense and sardonic curiousity.  How dare one of their own, a person who began life in Rosedale, then grew up in Richmond Hill and then live his adult like in Etobicoke critize the CENTRE OF THE UNIVERSE!

Easy….KC doesn’t have the nightlife Toronto has, it doesn’t have the variety of choices when it comes to restaurants or lounges….It doesn’t even have a hockey or basketball team!

What KC offers is a city like atmosphere with a small town community.  I have easily triple the friends I have in Toronto than I do in KC, but I never feel lonely in KC.  I never feel out of touch, never like an ant in an anthill.

I feel that Toronto offers me alot of superficial experiences, emotions that sit on the surface.  Friends come and go and we all have our separate lives.

Kansas City has soaked into my bones,  I love the people here, even if I am of a small minority.

I recently accepted a job offer that will move me to Seattle.  When I came back to Toronto, friends have mentioned that I must be relieved to be leaving the middle of nowhere USA.  I nod and smile, not wanting to explain to them that I will be missing KC more than I ever would Toronto (which I’ve left twice already) and hoping that Seattle will be the town that KC is and that I feel Toronto will never be.

About casualsuede

A green blogger.
This entry was posted in city, friends, home, Journal Entry, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

